PITW #174

SEEK BALANCE IN LIFE.

Living a life of commitment and service can be very hard. Quite literally, we take on the problems of the world. In order to be effective and to set a good example to others, we should seek to maintain balance in our lives. This doesn’t mean we don’t or can’t often work long hours or weekends, especially during heavy seasons in the campaign of idealism. But it does mean that you should not neglect your friends, family, relationships, health, or other personal areas of life. We should all also take time to relax, rejuvenate, and recapture our perspective and energy.

“PITW”s are ideas that are supposed to help guide City Year’s service and are supposed to serve as a reference for ways to implement the mission in our daily work.

This PITW is totally relevant to me at this moment because I feel like I’ve been taking the right steps in caring for the different components of my life that contribute to my overall well-being. Am I 100% balanced though? Not quite. Not yet!

In my relationships with family and friends I’ve made a list of people I want and need to prioritize. With this list I’ve developed a scheduled plan to make sure I am maintaining and nurturing our relationship by keeping in communication and appreciating each of them in different ways. This looks like writing letters, sending texts, making phone calls, spending quality time, and asking what they’ve been learning recently in their own lives. This ensures that I am prioritizing people who have prioritized me and who have injected joy, positivity, energy, and inspiration in my life. This means focusing on those who add to my life and being okay with choosing not to focus on those who don’t add to my life.

I’ve also been on it with my health. I get a good amount of sleep, take my vitamins, eat well (for the MOST part), and feel good about my physical activity. I’ve even recently visited the doctor for the first time since I’ve moved to Seattle!

I journal every Monday, reflecting on what’s going on in my life and what thoughts are filling up my mind. This has been important to me because I want to be able to freely express how I am feeling and be able to express those feelings with words.

In terms of how I spend my time with myself, I’m still working on it. Lately I’ve been dreaming about work. I hate it. They aren’t dreams specific to the school, students, or team I work with, but just generally about working and being stressed in a school environment. I can definitely attribute these dreams to being so focused on work lately. It’s a good and bad thing. I think I’ve been performing well with my work, but I also think I’m not making enough time to do what I enjoy on my own time. My own time has usually become “work time.” I’ll send emails, work on schedules, and worry about upcoming deadlines for work – on the weekends! I’d like to spend more alone time  with reading, practicing calligraphy, creating goals for the future, learning about random things, and cooking new recipes!

I think this blog is super important to me because it’s giving me an opportunity to express how I’m feeling and what I’m thinking throughout my second service year. I learned a lot from last year and wish I would’ve continued my blogging. This year has already presented a small dose of the challenges I’ll experience this year, so I want to be able to synthesize what I’m experiencing and share it!

Leave a Reply

