November Reflection

November was a month that felt like there was a lot, but at the same time, there was less chaos. Not saying that there wasn’t any chaos – just less. During the chaos and even during the calm, expressing gratitude is what kept my spirits high and mind focused and clear.

Leading the staff appreciation was heart-warming as I saw hugs and facial expressions that were filled with joyful emotions. They were guided by prompting cards to appreciate their fellow colleagues. After writing a “thank you,” they personally handed the note to the person they were appreciating. It was great. There were even a few staff members who came up to me and thanked me for the appreciation activity. Even though the staff are hard at work every day and can pass by one another mindlessly, they can find something to appreciate about one another when they take the time to think about it.

November 22nd marked a year since I started my gratitude journal. I write in it every day and started it because I wanted to really set the tone for my day in a positive and mindful way. So I started writing down the following structure and filling it out:

Date:

Today I am grateful for:

1.

2.

3.

What would make today great:

Today I am glad I:

I did this every morning in hopes that I can start a day off right by thinking about three things I was grateful for, one intention I wanted to set for the day to make it great, and one self-affirmation I could list to boost my confidence in making sure the day was great.

Taking the time to be grateful for the people and things in our life can really shift your day and ultimately your life, no matter how crazy it can get.

Leave a Reply

